Our History

Rotary Club Of Lagos

JGE, as he was then called, arrived in Nigeria in October 1960 with his wife Mildred, son William John and daughter Dorothy Anne with a letter dated October 5, 1960, from H.E Carrier, a past Rotary Director and a member of the Rotary Club of Saskatoon in Canada, who had suggested to JGE to consider the possibility of setting up a Rotary Club in Lagos.
Being a Rotarian of many years, JGE painstakingly conducted a community survey and developed a list of business and professional men to be invited as members. His spirit and passion for service to humanity launched the quintessential service Club known as the Rotary Club of Lagos, which eventually became the second Rotary club in Nigeria, having been beaten to that position by the Rotary Club of Kano that got its charter four weeks before the Rotary Club of Lagos.

On January 31, 1961, a list consisting of twenty-six individuals and an extension survey was submitted to Rotary International by JGE for a formation request as charter members with Chief S.L Edu nominated to serve as the Charter President and E. A Oshindero as the Secretary.

The charter members of the club were: Sir Adetokunbo Ademola, Israel Adebajo, Dr E.M Howell, F.I. Ajumogobia, Chief Dr F. Akerele, A.E. Ambrose, Mobolaji Bank-Anthony, A. Clegg, D.E. Davey, Chief T.A. Doherty, Chief S.L Edu, R.I. Fleming, Chief S.O Gbadamosi, Alexander Hakohen, The Rev. Canon B. A Adelaja, Mr Justice O Lambo, C.P Leventis, E.C MacNestry, Chief T.A Odutola, John B.Mandilas, Chief E.O Okunowo, John C.A Okwesa, E.A Osindero, Ambassador Joseph Palmer, J Adebanjo Tuyo, W.H.L Gordon.
On June 3 1961, a telegram dated June 2 1961, arrived at the Federal Ministry of Education office of JGE with the message “LAGOS ADMITTED, MAY 30 PLEASE ADMIT CLUB – INTO ROTARY”. Thus, the Rotary Club of Lagos was chartered on June 3, 1961. The first meeting of the Charter members was held on Friday, June 21 1961, at the Federal Palace Hotel in Lagos. The charter dinner was held on Monday, July 10 1961, at the Independence Hall of the Federal Palace Hotel.

Our Footprints

  • The Rotary Club of Ikeja (Organised by Jack Farnsworth and PDG Anofi Guobadia)
  • Rotary Club of Abeokuta (By S.L Durosaro)
  • Rotary Club of Lagos Central (By Abioye Oyeleke)
  • Rotary Club of Yaba (By Dotun Okubanjo)
  • Rotary Club of Lagos West (By PDG Biodun Sanwo)
  • Rotary Club of Victoria Island (By PDG Babs Ajayi)
  • Rotary Club of Ikorodu Metropolitan (By PDG Babs Ajayi)
  • Rotary Club of Satellite Town (By Herbert Snowball)
  • Rotary Club of Ikoyi (By PDG R.A Balogun and PP Kola Bajomo)
  • Rotary Club of Falomo (By PP Mike Osu and PP Seni Oduyoye)
  • Rotary Club of Lekki Phase 1 (By PAG Hakim Akinlade)
  • Rotary Club of Global Union
  • Rotary Club of Eko Atlantic

Rotary Club of Lagos